HAGERSTOWN COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

MINUTES

Work Session January 16, 2024

A work session of the Board of Trustees of Hagerstown Community College was held on Tuesday, January 16, 2024, in the Career Programs Building Room 211 and 213, beginning at 12:30 pm. In attendance:

Board Members Carolyn Brooks James S. Klauber, Secretary / President Paula Lampton, Vice Chair Thomas Newcomer L. William Proctor, Jr., Chair Gregory Snook John Williamson

<u>HCC Affiliates</u> Jennifer Childs – Executive Director, Human Resources & Campus Safety Christopher McAfee – Assistant Director, IT Christine Ohl-Gigliotti – Dean of Students Joseph Seiler – Manager, IT Rebecca Shives – Recording Secretary Heike Soeffker-Culicerto - Vice President, Administration and Finance Christopher Stone – IT Security Technician

Call to Order

Chair Proctor presided and convened the work session at 12:32 pm.

Policies for Review

Policy 3041 – In-County Resident Status for Students Displaced by Natural Disasters

Dean Ohl-Gigliotti shared no changes within the policy need made, however, the background statement is recommended to be removed. The trustees had no objections.

Policy 4039 – Heroin and Opioid Addiction and Prevention Policy

Dean Ohl-Gigliotti shared verbiage changes to this policy. The trustees had no objections.

Policy 6037 – Debt Policy

Board of Trustees Work Session Minutes January 16, 2024 Page 2

Vice President Soeffker-Culicerto shared verbiage changes to this policy. The trustees had no objections.

Policy 8073 – Information Technology Security Policy

Assistant Director McAfee, Manager Seiler, and Security Technician Stone proposed this new policy that documents acknowledgements, new laws, and standards the college has to follow. This policy also directs IT to keep up with documentation and ensures data breach and annual security training for all employees. The trustees had no objections.

Adjournment to Closed Session

There being no further business or discussion, the work session was adjourned at 12:56 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

1 Kladen

James S. Klauber, PhD President/Secretary