- Quick Links
- Academics (Credit)
- Continuing Education (Non-Credit)
- HCC Portal
- Student Email
- College Central Network
- Emergency Alert Sign-Up
- Transcript Requests
- Alumni Association
- HCC Foundation
- Administrator on Duty
- Directions and Maps
- News and Events
Welcome to the driving school @ HCC! Our school is licensed and certified by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration to provide you or your teenager training under the state Graduated Driver Licensing Law. The driving school @ HCC provides the same quality of instruction associated with our 60 years of community education in Washington County. Experienced instructors licensed by the MVA and vehicles modified for training help the rookie driver learn the state requirements for becoming a safe driver.
Driver Education includes 30 hours of classroom training, six hours of behind-the-wheel driving, and is required by the state of Maryland for all Maryland drivers obtaining their first license. The classroom instruction will include discussion of space management, basic maneuvering, reducing risks, and personal factors influencing operator performance and collision avoidance. Student driving sessions are scheduled one-on-one and include basic car control, parallel parking, and a variety of roadways.
Each Driver Education class will include a 3-hour orientation and will acquaint students with the school's requirements and components of the Maryland's Graduated Driver Licensing Law. Attendance at the 3-hour orientation is strongly encouraged for parents and/or mentors but mandatory for students. **If a student misses the Driver Education Orientation class, they can not continue in the session and must be scheduled into another Driver Education course per Maryland MVA policy.
Students should bring their learner's permit to the Driver Education orientation class. The Learner's Permit is a State of Maryland requirement to complete the entire driver education course. Students without a valid learner's permits will not be allowed to participate in the student driving sessions. For more information on obtaining a Learner’s Permit, the MVA has established an online document guide to assist customers in determining what documents they need to provide in support of the more common licensing functions: http://mvadocumentguide.mva.maryland.gov/
Do you have questions? Click HERE for our FAQ page!
Driver Education Courses Open for Registration:
Driver Education classes are available at the HCC main and the Valley Mall Campuses. Check the schedule below for availability.
Cost: $287 per student
DRV-001-J: Monday and Wednesday, Apr 29 - June 5, from 6pm-9pm, CPB 210
***Mandatory student/parent/mentor orientation: Monday, Apr 29, from 6pm-9pm
DRV-001-L: Monday - Friday, June 10-24, from 9am-12pm, CPB 210
***Mandatory student/parent/mentor orientation: Monday, June 10, from 9am-12pm
DRV-001-LL: Monday and Wednesday, June 24 - July 31, from 6pm-9pm, CPB 210
***Mandatory student/parent/mentor orientation: Monday, June 24, from 6pm-9pm
DRV-001-A: Monday - Friday, July 8-22, from 9am-12pm, Valley Mall 7
***Mandatory student/parent/mentor orientation: Monday, July 8, from 9am-12pm
DRV-001-AA: Monday - Friday, July 29 - Aug 12, from 9am-12pm, Valley Mall 7
***Mandatory student/parent/mentor orientation: Monday, July 29, from 9am-12pm
If you have any questions or concerns, call registration at 240-500-2236.